Skip to content
Home » News » All About The Three Cloud Computing Layers

All About The Three Cloud Computing Layers

    Cloud Computing

    Many layered elements make up the cloud computing structure. At the most basic level is the storage and infrastructure of the server. This proceeds up to the layers of application and the network layers. 

    Depending on whether it is created internally or otherwise, is outsourced, or is a mix of the two, cloud is divided further into various implementation models. 

    In this write-up, let us find out more about the cloud computing layers and the Cloud cube model.  

    Cloud computing layers and Implementation models

    The three layers of the cloud include. Also, find out which factors are clouds classified on

    Infrastructure cloud comprises abstract applications to and fro servers and storage. This cloud layer comprises physical components. They store data and run various applications. With the help of virtual servers, the applications run. The virtual storage pools are formed to harbor the newly added as well as existing data that are arranged in different storage tiers on the basis of reliability requisites and performance. The aim of employing virtual abstraction is to manage the storage and the servers as logical and not just independent physical entities. 

    1.Content Cloud

    The implementation of metadata is taken care of by the content cloud. Also, indexing services over the infrastructure cloud to offer data management for all content is also performed by the content cloud

    What is the main aim of this layer of cloud computing? The main objective is to abstract data from different applications so that these very applications are able to access data, regardless of whether the data type and structure are being changed or not. 

    2.Information cloud

    The information cloud is perhaps crucial of all cloud computing layers. It “abstracts the client from the data”. This can be better understood with the help of an example. Let us say, you have a client that has data that is stored in any database in Tokyo but you will be able to access the stored data even if you are in Nebraska. 

    What is the Cloud Cube model? 

    The Cube model helps in categorizing the cloud network on the basis of 4-dimensional factors. The main aim is to safeguard the cloud network. The cloud cube model is responsible for helping select cloud formation only for collaborations that are secure. 

    With the help of this model, the business entities, IT professionals, managers, and companies are able to operate within a secure and protected network

    Security is of utmost importance in any cloud environment and it is well understood by all cloud clients. An important aspect that you must keep in mind is that the cloud formation that you select must also adhere to the location and regulatory requisites. 

    What are the three service models?

    There are three service models and they are-

    1. Software as a Service (SaaS)
    2. Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)
    3. Platform as a Service (PaaS)

    Securing data in the cloud cube model

    In order to secure data in the cloud cube model, there are a few steps that you can follow. These are as follows-

    • Step-1- Data classification-The customer must be aware of the rules that will apply for the protection of the data. 
    • Step-2- You must make sure that the data that exists is present only in specific trust levels. 
    • Step-3- Check for regulatory compliance. It should be able to check the various restrictions and the regulatory compliance that are in place or applied. 

    If you have been able to classify the data and you know the required zone where it must be placed, you are in a position to make a decision about the following. These include-

    • Which processes and data are required to be shifted to the cloud.
    • The level at which the user is willing to operate in the cloud. Whether it is software, platform, infrastructure, or Platform as a Service. 
    • Those cloud formations are most compatible according to the need.
    • To understand that the “level of operation” in the cloud will be different according to the requirement. 

    The cloud cube model has 4 dimensions. They are as follows-

    1. Internal/External
    2. Insourced/ Outsourced dimensions
    3. Proprietary or Open dimension
    4. De-Perimeterized or Perimeterized dimension

    One of the primary factors pertaining to the cloud cube model is key management and encryption. These are the two factors that offer integrity and confidentiality to the model. Aside from this, it offers a safe environment for IT professionals, managers, and businesses to operate in. 

    It is interesting to know that unlike traditional network environment and boundaries, and firewall networking, the concept is entirely different from all these in the case of cloud computing.